Team News: Racing 92 and La Rochelle receive midfield boost

Team News: Racing 92 and La Rochelle receive midfield boost

Racing 92 and La Rochelle have announced their teams for the all-French Champions Cup semi-final on Sunday at the Stade Bollaert-Delelis.

Racing 92 have made five changes to their starting XV that beat the Sale Sharks 41-22 in the quarter-finals.

Four of the changes come in the pack with an entirely new front row named to start against La Rochelle's powerhouse pack. Rugby World Cup winner Trevor Nyakane replaces Cedate Gomes Sa in the starting XV and the Springbok is joined by Georgian international Guram Gogichashvili at loosehead and Frenchman Teddy Baubigny at hooker.

Bernard Le Roux comes into the starting lineup in place of the injured Baptiste Chouzenoux with Anton Bresler retaining the no.5 jumper. The back row is unchanged with Wenceslas Lauret at blindside flank, Ibrahim Diallo at openside flan and Yoan Tanga at no.8.

There is just one change to the backline that beat the Sale Sharks with Virimi Vakatawa replacing last week's captain Henry Chavancy, who falls to the bench. Gael Fickou partners Vakatawa and captains the side.

Nolann Le Garrec and Finn Russell are the halfbacks with Teddy Thomas and Juan Imhoff the wingers and Max Spring at fullback.

The Racing 92 replacements are: Camille Chat, Eddy Ben Arous, Cedate Gomes Sa, Baptiste Pesenti, Boris Palu, Maxime Machenaud, Antoine Gibert, and Henry Chavancy.

Meanwhile, Ronan O'Gara has made just one change to his starting lineup with Jonathan Danty starting at inside centre.

Danty comes into the starting lineup having missed the quarter-final win over Montpellier through injury.

He replaces Levani Botia, who drops to the bench, with Jeremy Sinzelle at outside centre.

Dillyn Leyds starts at fullback with Brice Dulin still out through injury. Raymond Rhule and Jules Favre are on the wings with Ihaia West at flyhalf and Tawera Kerr-Barlow at scrumhalf.

In the pack, Dany Priso, Pierre Bourgarit, and Uini Atonio starts in the front with Remi Picquette and Thomas Lavault in the second row.

Wiaan Liebenberg, Victor Vito and Gregory Alldritt start in the back row. 

The La Rochelle bench is: Facundo Bosch, Reda Wardi, Joel Sclavi, Romain Sazy, Matthias Haddad, Arthur Retiere, Levani Botia, and Pierre Popelin.


15. Max Spring, 14. Teddy Thomas, 13. Virimi Vakatawa, 12. Gael Fickou (c), 11. Juan Imhoff, 10. Finn Russell, 9. Nolann Le Garrec, 1. Guram Gogichashvili, 2. Teddy Baubigny, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 4. Bernard Le Roux, 5. Anton Bresler, 6. Wenceslas Lauret, 7. Ibrahim Diallo, 8. Yoan Tanga.


16. Camille Chat, 17. Eddy Ben Arous, 18. Cedate Gomes Sa, 19. Baptiste Pesenti, 20. Boris Palu, 21. Maxime Machenaud, 22. Antoine Gibert, 23. Henry Chavancy,


15. Dillyn Leyds, 14. Jules Favre, 13. Jérémy Sinzelle, 12. Jonathan Danty, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Ihaia West, 9. Tawera Kerr Barlow, 1. Dany Priso, 2. Pierre Bourgarit, 3. Uini Atonio, 4. Thomas Lavault, 5. Rémi Picquette, 6. Wiaan Liebenberg, 7. Victor Vito, 8. Grégory Alldritt (c).

16. Facundo Bosch, 17. Reda Wardi, 18. Joel Sclavi, 19. Romain Sazy, 20. Matthias Haddad, 21. Arthur Retiere, 22. Levani Botia, 23. Pierre Popelin,

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)

AR1: Luke Pearce (England)

AR2: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia)

TMO: Ian Tempest (England)

Broadcasters: France 2 / beIN SPORTS / BT Sport / Channel 4 / Virgin Media

Latest News