Team Announcements: Leinster vs Stormers

Team Announcements: Leinster vs Stormers

The Leinster Rugby team to take on reigning-champions the Stormers in Round 16 of the BKT United Rugby Championship, on Friday evening in the RDS Arena, has been named by Leo Cullen (KO: 7:35pm – live on TG4 and URC TV).

Rob Russell replaces the injured Jamie Osborne in the only personnel change from the bonus point win over Edinburgh earlier this month. Ciarán Frawley moves from full-back to inside centre, with Jordan Larmour moving from the wing to full-back.

Dave Kearney joins Russell and Larmour in the back three, with Liam Turner partnering Frawley in the centre.

Harry Byrne and Luke McGrath continue their partnership at half-back.

The pack remains unchanged from the win in the Scottish capital. Michael Milne, John McKee and Michael Ala’alatoa retain their places in the front row.

Ross Molony is partnered by Jason Jenkins in the second row, with captain Rhys Ruddock, Scott Penny and Max Deegan retaining their places in the back-row.

On the bench, there is a welcome return from injury for Ed Byrne who looks set to make his first appearance of 2023.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):
15. Jordan Larmour (85)
14. Rob Russell (15)
13. Liam Turner (15)
12. Ciarán Frawley (61)
11. Dave Kearney (179)
10. Harry Byrne (45)
9. Luke McGrath (189)
1. Michael Milne (27)
2. John McKee (14)
3. Michael Ala’alatoa (41)
4. Ross Molony (157)
5. Jason Jenkins (11)
6. Rhys Ruddock (219) CAPTAIN
7. Scott Penny (52)
8. Max Deegan (93)

16. Lee Barron (4)
17. Ed Byrne (93)
18. Vakhtang Abdaladze (25)
19. Brian Deeny (10)
20. Will Connors (32)
21. Nick McCarthy (58)
22. Charlie Tector (5)
23. Ben Brownlee (2)

Referee: Sam Grove-White (SRU

The Stormers welcome back a host of Springboks for the Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash with Leinster in Dublin on Friday night.

Captain Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Marvin Orie and Damian Willemse all make their return for the table-topping encounter at the RDS Arena, which kicks off at 21h35 (SAST) on Friday.

Willemse is joined in midfield by Dan du Plessis, while Paul de Wet partners Manie Libbok at halfback with Herschel Jantjies and Jean-Luc du Plessis on the replacements bench.

Hacjivah Dayimani is also back in the starting line-up at No.8, with Deon Fourie and Ben-Jason Dixon on the flanks. Orie will link up with Ruben van Heerden in the second row while Kitshoff and Malherbe will be either side of hooker Joseph Dweba at scrum-time.

Stormers: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Damian Willemse, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain).
Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Willie Engelbrecht, 21 Marcel Theunissen, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Jean-Luc du Plessis.

Latest News