Munster Secure Brilliant Bonus-Point Win Against Bulls

Munster Secure Brilliant Bonus-Point Win Against Bulls

Munster came from behind to carve out a bonus point win at Loftus Versfeld in this BKT United Rugby Championship encounter.

Munster led 17-10 at the end of an entertaining opening half where the lead changed hands a few times.

Munster started well and after Conor Murray saw a penalty from just inside his own half come back off the left post, they hit the front after 19 minutes when Shane Daly scored his 15th try for the province when he touched down in the left corner. Jack Crowley added the conversion from the wing.

The Bulls, unbeaten at home in a year, hit back and got back on level terms when No.8 Erligh Louw scored. Out-half Johan Goosen converted and then added a penalty from close range to lead 10-7 on the half hour.

But Munster finished the half strongly and RG Snyman scored against his former club after good pressure. Crowley converted and then added a penalty from 47 metres on the right to lead by seven at the break.

The Bulls got on top after the restart and went back in front with tries from winger Kurt-lee Ardense and hooker Johan Grobbelaar to lead 22-17.

However, out-half Goosen was issued with a red card after a high tackle on Craig Casey which saw a fourth try from Canan Moodie ruled out. Casey, who had only come on a few minutes earlier, had to go off and took no further part in the game. Conor Murray returned to the action in his place.

Munster got back on level terms four minutes after the dismissal when John Hodnett scored after a superb crosskick from Crowley.

Munster piled on the pressure after that and were rewarded seven minutes from time when Murray scored the bonus point try in the right corner to seal an important win on the road in South Africa.

BKT URC Round 14 Round-Up

Jack Crowley was awarded the BKT Player of the Match.

This bonus-point win sees Munster move up to third in the URC table.

Munster take on the Lions in Johannesburg next Saturday.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell (Joey Carbery 65), Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Conor Murray; Jeremy Loughman (Josh Wycherley 51), Niall Scannell (Eoghan Clarke 63), Stephen Archer (Oli Jager 63); RG Snyman (Tom Ahern 56), Tadhg Beirne (capt); Peter O’Mahony (Gavin Coombes 52), Alex Kendellen (John Hodnett 52), Jack O’Donoghue.

Latest News