Leicester Tigers side to play Ospreys

Leicester Tigers side to play Ospreys

Steve Borthwick has named the Leicester Tigers matchday squad to play Ospreys on Sunday (December 11) in Round 1 of the 2022/23 Heineken Champions Cup pool stages.


Hanro Liebenberg captains the side at openside flanker in a new-look back-row with George Martin and Olly Cracknell.


Cracknell is one of eight changes to the starting side from last Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership draw with Bristol Bears.


Jack van Poortvliet, who is named as vice-captain, is partnered with Charlie Atkinson as the starting half-backs for the first time.


Sunday's European opener will be the first Heineken Champions Cup appearances for Leicester Tigers for Atkinson, Cracknell and Anthony Watson.


Dan Kelly, who made his return to action after a lengthy injury lay-off last week, retains his place in the midfield alongside Guy Porter.


Porter and Harry Potter will make their 50th appearances for the club.


Included among the replacements is Gabriel Oghre who, if used, will make his Leicester Tigers debut.



15 Anthony Watson [6]

14 Harry Potter [49]

13 Guy Porter [49]

12 Dan Kelly [44]

11 Hosea Saumaki [17]

10 Charlie Atkinson [4]

9 Jack van Poortvliet (vc) [54]

1 James Whitcombe [29]

2 Charlie Clare [61]

3 Joe Heyes [108]

4 Harry Wells [164]

5 Ollie Chessum [36]

6 George Martin [47]

7 Hanro Liebenberg (c) [68]

8 Olly Cracknell [8]



16 Gabriel Oghre *

17 Nephi Leatigaga [72]

18 Will Hurd [14]

19 Eli Snyman [26]

20 Sean Jansen [9]

21 Richard Wigglesworth [41]

22 Jimmy Gopperth [6]

23 Matt Scott [53]

* Leicester Tigers debut


Latest News