Joe Schmidt names his first Wallabies squad

Joe Schmidt names his first Wallabies squad

Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt has named a 38-player squad for the July series, his first as coach.

Western Force captain Jeremy Williams is one of 13 uncapped players in the squad, with the opening Test against Wales beginning on July 6 in Sydney.

He is joined by Force teammate Hamish Stewart and Brumbies backrower Charlie Cale as Schmidt unveiled a new-look squad.

Rebels trio Darby Lancaster, Isaac Kailea and David Feliuai were also selected after helping the club to their maiden finals campaign.

Lancaster has had a breakout debut season in 2024, with the 21-year-old scoring four tries in his first three games.

Queensland teammates Tom Lynagh and Josh Nasser headline the six uncapped Reds named in the squad, following in the footsteps of fathers and Wallabies Michael and Brendan.

Former All Black Alex Hodgman is in line to become the fourth player to play for New Zealand and Australia, selected alongside lock duo Ryan Smith, Angus Blyth, and centre Josh Flook.

Kurtley Beale also earned a recall after his mid-season addition to the Western Force along with Rebels lock Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Brumbies trio Len Ikitau, Noah Lolesio and Tom Wright as well as Reds duo Liam Wright and Hunter Paisami.

Brumbies winger Corey Toole is amongst several players unavailable for selection, with the speedster the Sevens squad for a tilt at the Olympics.

Angus Bell, Rob Leota and Dave Porecki are amongst the experienced Wallabies not considered due to injury.

"There were some very tight selection calls, as there always are when selecting a National Team," Schmidt said in a statement.

"The coaching group has looked hard at on-field performances and had ongoing discussions with Super Rugby coaches.

"We’ve combined the observations we’ve made, with some candid discussion and feel that we have some very good players to start working with, while also acknowledging that there are some good players who have missed selection.

“We have a short runway into our first Test, so we’re just keen to get to work and make as much progress as we can over the four days we have in Brisbane.”

The squad will assemble in Brisbane in the coming days before moving down to Sydney ahead of the first Test.

They will play Wales in a two-Test series, before taking on Georgia on July 20.

Wallabies squad (Wallaby number, first Australian Rugby club)

Forwards (21)

Allan Alaalatoa (#896, West Harbour Juniors)

Angus Blyth (uncapped, Casuarina Beach Rugby Club)

Charlie Cale (uncapped, Beecroft Junior Rugby Club)

Matt Faessler (#969, USQ Saints)

Nick Frost (#953, Hornsby Lions)

Langi Gleeson (#960, Harbord Harlequins)

Alex Hodgman (uncapped, Sunnybank Dragons)

Tom Hooper (#964, Bathurst Bulldogs)

Isaac Kailea (uncapped, Harlequin Junior Rugby Club)

Fraser McReight (#937, Albany Creek Brumbies)

Josh Nasser (uncapped, Easts Rugby (Brisbane))

Zane Nonggorr (#966, Gold Coast Eagles)

Billy Pollard (#958, Lindfield Junior Rugby Club)

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (#914, Randwick)

Ryan Smith (uncapped, Caboolture Snakes)

James Slipper (#843, Bond Pirates)

Taniela Tupou (#917, Brothers Rugby (Brisbane))

Rob Valetini (#929, Harlequin Junior Rugby Club)

Jeremy Williams (uncapped, Wahroonga Tigers)

Harry Wilson (#933, Gunnedah Red Devils)

Liam Wright (#928, Easts Rugby (Brisbane))

Backs (17)

Kurtley Beale (#836, Northern Suburbs (Sydney))

Filipo Daugunu (#931, Wests Rugby Club (Brisbane))

Ben Donaldson (#962, Clovelly Eagles)

David Feliuai (uncapped, Sunnybank Dragons)

Josh Flook (uncapped, Brothers Rugby (Brisbane))

Jake Gordon (#925, Canterbury Juniors)

Len Ikitau (#944, Tuggeranong Vikings)

Andrew Kellaway (#943, Hunters Hill Rugby Club)

Darby Lancaster (uncapped, Kempsey Cannonballs)

Noah Lolesio (#934, Tuggeranong Vikings)

Tom Lynagh (uncapped, University of Queensland) 

Tate McDermott (#936, Flinders Rugby Club)

Hunter Paisami (#932, Harlequin Junior Rugby Club)

Dylan Pietsch (uncapped, Leeton Phantoms)

Hamish Stewart (uncapped, Toowoomba Bears)

Nic White (#875, Maitland Blacks)

Tom Wright (#939, Clovelly Eagles)

Unavailable for selection

Recovering from injury

Angus Bell

Harry Johnson-Holmes

Max Jorgensen

Rob Leota

Lachlan Lonergan

David Porecki

Blake Schoupp

Australia Sevens

Corey Toole

Wallabies 2024 Home Tests
July Tests

Wallabies v Wales, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday July 6 at Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Wallabies v Wales, 7:45pm AEST, Saturday July 13 at AAMI Park, Melbourne

Wallabies v Georgia, 3:45pm AEST, Saturday July 20 at Allianz Stadium, Sydney

The Rugby Championship/Bledisloe Cup

Wallabies v South Africa, 2:30pm AEST, Saturday August 10 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Wallabies v South Africa, 5:45pm AWST, Saturday August 17 at Optus Stadium, Perth

Wallabies v New Zealand, 3:45pm AEST, Saturday September 21 at Accor Stadium, Sydney

Latest News