James O'Connor set for his first Super Rugby game in five years

James O'Connor set for his first Super Rugby game in five years

Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn has named his first team of the 2020 Super Rugby season for Friday night’s opening round clash against the Brumbies in Canberra.

Up to five players could make their Queensland debuts with Brothers backrower Harry Wilson named at number-eight and Henry Speight selected on the wing against his former club.

Following standout performances in Queensland Premier Rugby that led to selection with Brisbane City in the National Rugby Championship (NRC) last year, Queensland pathway trio Dane Zander, Seru Uru and Hunter Paisami could potentially also make their Queensland debuts after being named on the bench.

Also check out Brian O'Driscoll's three players to watch in the Six Nations:


Continue reading below...

The Reds will be bolstered up-front with the return of props JP Smith and Feao Fotuaika from injury, while Izack Rodda will also make his comeback following routine off-season ankle surgery post the Rugby World Cup.

Queensland’s backline remains unchanged from last week’s pre-season win over the Waratahs in Dalby, with Isaac Lucas earning his second Super Rugby start in the number-10 jersey and James O’Connor partnering Jordan Petaia in an exciting centre-pairing combination.

Liam Wright will lead the team in his first Queensland-capped match as captain and will have the support of Rodda, Speight and Bryce Hegarty as part of the Reds leadership group this season.

Thorn said: “We’re excited for the season to start. We have the Brumbies first-up and we look forward to a tough contest.

“Dalby and Gladstone had us for two trial games which were important hit-outs leading into the season.

“Five guys could make their Queensland debuts on Friday night which is an awesome thing to recognise. They’ve worked hard during the pre-season and deserve their selection.”

Queensland play the Brumbies on Friday night at 6:15pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

The Reds travel to South Africa (Lions) and Argentina (Jaguares) in Rounds 2 and 3, before returning home to host the Sunwolves at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 22 February - CLICK HERE for tickets.

St.George Queensland Reds v Brumbies

1.    JP Smith – GPS 
2.    Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank 
3.    Taniela Tupou – Brothers 
4.    Angus Blyth – Bond University 
5.    Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths 
6.    Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7.    Liam Wright © – Easts 
8.    Harry Wilson* – Brothers 
9.    Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10.    Isaac Lucas – Sunnybank 
11.    Henry Speight* – Bond University 
12.    James O’Connor – Brothers 
13.    Jordan Petaia – Wests 
14.    Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
15.    Bryce Hegarty – GPS 

16.    Alex Mafi – Bond University 
17.    Dane Zander** – Norths 
18.    Feao Fotuaika – GPS 
19.    Izack Rodda – Easts
20.    Seru Uru** – Easts 
21.    Moses Sorovi – Wests 
22.    Hamish Stewart – Brothers 
23.    Hunter Paisami** – Wests 

Latest News