Glasgow team for the URC Grand Final

Glasgow team for the URC Grand Final

Glasgow Warriors will take to the field at Loftus Versfeld tomorrow afternoon with an unchanged starting XV, as Franco Smith’s men take on the Vodacom Bulls in the 2023/24 BKT United Rugby Championship Grand Final.

Having booked their place in a first league final since 2019 with a memorable victory over Munster at Thomond Park last weekend, the same starting lineup will run out in front of a sold-out crowd of over 52,000 in Pretoria, with thousands of the Warrior Nation roaring on their team from fan zones and rugby clubs back in Glasgow and across Scotland.

Zander Fagerson anchors the scrum at tight-head having played every minute of the BKT URC playoffs so far, Jamie Bhatti and Johnny Matthews joining the ever-present prop in the front row.

Scott Cummings and Richie Gray continue their partnership in the engine room, the pair having caused havoc at the lineout for Munster at Thomond Park last time out.

Matt Fagerson – a try-scorer on Glasgow’s last visit to Pretoria – starts on the blindside, as Rory Darge and Jack Dempsey, who reaches a half-century of appearances in a Glasgow shirt, make it an all-international pack once again.

Behind the scrum, George Horne starts at scrum-half, with Tom Jordan pulling on the number 10 jersey for his 50th appearance for the club after an all-action performance in Limerick last Saturday.

Sione Tuipulotu continues at inside centre after his Player of the Match-winning performance in the semi-final, linking up with Huw Jones in the midfield for the fourth successive fixture.

Kyle Steyn will lead the team from the wing, as Sebastian Cancelliere – another to have touched down on his most recent visit to Loftus Versfeld – and Josh McKay complete the back-three.

The only two alterations to the matchday 23 come amongst the replacements, one of which sees Nathan McBeth return to the squad after completing his return to play protocols following a head injury sustained against the DHL Stormers.

George Turner and Oli Kebble join McBeth in their final outing for Glasgow Warriors before moving on to pastures new this summer, the pair bringing over 200 appearances worth of experience to proceedings off the bench.

Max Williamson and Euan Ferrie are each selected for their first taste of a Grand Final in Glasgow colours, as Henco Venter completes a six-two split of forwards and backs amongst the replacements.

Duncan Weir is the only other change to the matchday squad, as the fly-half – the only survivor from the 2015 title-winning squad – joins Jamie Dobie as the backline cover for tomorrow’s clash.

Speaking following selection, Head Coach Smith told “The Bulls are a high-quality team who have great experience in finals rugby, with a squad that possesses talent across the board.

“They have a proud home record and will be looking to make home advantage count in front of a sold-out Loftus Versfeld.

“We know that we must focus on ourselves and our game plan, and we know that the Warrior Nation will be behind us no matter where they are.”

Glasgow Warriors team to face the Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld, Saturday 22 June, kick-off 5pm UK time. You can watch the match live on Premier Sports, or follow all the action in our Live Match Centre at

1 Jamie Bhatti (105)
2 Johnny Matthews (72)
3 Zander Fagerson (148)
4 Scott Cummings (125)
5 Richie Gray (114)
6 Matt Fagerson (110)
7 Rory Darge (47)
8 Jack Dempsey (49)

9 George Horne (118)
10 Tom Jordan (49)
11 Kyle Steyn (C) (76)
12 Sione Tuipulotu (54)
13 Huw Jones (70)
14 Sebastian Cancelliere (37)
15 Josh McKay (48)


16 George Turner (101)
17 Nathan McBeth (41)
18 Oli Kebble (104)
19 Max Williamson (19)
20 Euan Ferrie (20)
21 Henco Venter (21)
22 Jamie Dobie (67)
23 Duncan Weir (150)

Unavailable for selection: Fraser Brown (knee), Allan Dell (arm), JP du Preez (knee), Ally Miller (calf), Alex Samuel (head), Ollie Smith (knee), Lucio Sordoni (foot), Sione Vailanu (knee).

Latest News