All Blacks 7s and Black Ferns 7s crowned World Series champions

All Blacks 7s and Black Ferns 7s crowned World Series champions

All Blacks Sevens and Black Ferns Sevens players have received their World Series-winning medals, trophies and a slew of awards announced by World Rugby.

The season was called off earlier this year due to Covid-19 and with the New Zealand teams leading the standings in both men’s and women’s competitions they were declared Series winners. It is the first combined victory since 2014.

As well as receiving gold medals and the series trophies, individual player awards were also announced, with Stacey Fluhler the big winner.

Fluhler received the Gilbert Top Try Scorer, DHL Impact Player and was joined by teammates Ruby Tui and Tyla Nathan-Wong in the women's Dream Team. All Blacks Sevens co-captain Scott Curry was named in the men’s Dream Team.

Nathan-Wong was also recognised for becoming the second women’s player to score 1000 series points with the UL Mark of Excellence.

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 Award Winners

Men’s HSBC Dream Team:
• Scott Curry (New Zealand)
• Tavite Veredamu (France)
• JC Pretorius (South Africa)
• Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)
• Jordan Conroy (Ireland)
• Aminiasi Tuimaba (Fiji)
• Selvyn Davids (South Africa)

Women’s HSBC Dream Team:
• Brittany Benn (Canada)
• Sharni Williams (Australia)
• Ruby Tui (New Zealand)
• Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)
• Ghislaine Landry (Canada)
• Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
• Kristi Kirshe (USA)

UL Mark of Excellence:
Men’s winner:
• Dan Norton (England): Dan Norton’s achievement of becoming the first sevens player to score 350 tries on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series at the HSBC Sydney Sevens
Women’s winner:
• Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand): Tyla Nathan-Wong for becoming the first Black Ferns Sevens player – and second overall – to reach 1,000 series points at the HSBC Sydney Sevens

Gilbert Top Try Scorer: An award for the top try scorer on the men’s and women’s series.
• Men’s winner: Jordan Conroy (Ireland)
• Women’s winner: Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

DHL Impact Player: A stats-based award which statistically analyses individual players’ all round performances measured against four key criteria - offloads, carries, line-breaks and tackles.
• Men’s winner: Tavite Veredamu (France)
• Women’s winner: Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

Latest News